Webinar Invitation: “EACH STUDENT ON A PATH TO READINESS: State Strategies toward Personalized Learning”

The MACC@WestED invites you to  a webinar series on State Strategies That Support Personalized Learning that we are hosting with three other Centers across the country.  Our purpose is to facilitate cross-state sharing of interesting and novel, student-centered policies and practices. Presenters will reflect upon their work, share insights, and launch an ongoing dialogue to strengthen efforts that improve postsecondary readiness and success.

And, of course, we can do follow-ups with you or anyone on your team if any of the sessions prompts thoughts about next steps.

The first webinar, Colorado Graduation Guidelines & Readiness Demonstrations, takes place Thursday, April 6, at Noon Pacific; 1:00 p.m. Mountain; 2:00 p.m. Central; 3:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time.

Presenters

  • Robin Russel, Graduation Guidelines Manager, Office of Postsecondary and Workforce Pathways, Colorado Department of Education
  • Misti Ruthven, Executive Director, Office of Postsecondary and Workforce Pathways, Colorado Department of Education

Description

Colorado is the last state to adopt graduation expectations for high school students. Development of the state’s graduation guidelines began in 2007 with considerable stakeholder input. The process culminated in May 2013 when the state board of education adopted the Colorado Graduation Guidelines and menu of college- and career-ready demonstrations.

Colorado Graduation Guidelines provide a roadmap to help students and their families plan for success after high school. The guidelines allow students multiple, equally rigorous and valued pathways to demonstrate competency of the knowledge and skills necessary for postsecondary education and meaningful careers. Students complete Individual Career and Academic Plans (ICAP), display competency in 21st century skills, and demonstrate academic proficiency in four subjects.

Presenters will share the Colorado Graduation Guidelines story including the background, key activities and products — such as the Colorado menu of college and career-ready demonstrations and capstone rubrics — results to date, and lessons learned.

Registration Link

Conference Call: 

Call-in number: 1-877-413-2826

Conference Code: 914-007-4654 #

 

For additional information, please contact your regional comprehensive center liaison

or Sheila Arredondo at sarredo@wested.org.

 

Co-sponsored by the Central, Mid-Atlantic, Northeast, and West Comprehensive Centers